python newbie night, hive13 style

hacklab.to does a weekly python class, and i want us to do one too.

check out the wiki page that almost conforms to the project template:
http://wiki.hive13.org/index.php?title=Python_newbies

I'd be interested in this.

FYI, the wiki page says Wednesday, Sept. 22, when I think you mean the
23rd.

On 9/8/2009 5:51 PM Chris Anderson claimed:

I added it to the Hive13 calendar as the 23, but left the wiki alone because I was not sure.

Sign me up.

I'm not that great at teaching, but I've been using Python since 2004.
So I'll show up to this to help people out... and probably get
schooled by a newbie on basic syntax because I've been writing C++ and
MATLAB and AutoIt and bash too much at work.

i love autoIT. i use it to do all sorts dumb things at work.

Dang, I’m taking a class on composting the next couple of wednesdays until 8:30. How late are people going to be at the space for the Python class?

Wondering if maybe we might think about a small fee for non-members to
take this course? How I've done "donations" for series classes before
is a small set fee for the entire series (if you miss a class that's
your lookout) but pay at the second class. That way people can check
it out before deciding to commit $20-30.

Now my classes are significantly different material and I usually have
printing/binding costs to cover and so forth, but this helps to defray
use of the space, etc. by people who are not members.

I can make most Wed. Nights and would like to have a reason to dive
into python (other than "sounds cool").

I think that I may attend myself, but if we are going to aloow non-members for a "fee’, please let it be now asap so that I can start to promote it.

I am not sure there are any costs associated with the class at this point, maybe if we print out the Python book we will be using (its 236 pages, our printer @ the hive can print duplex, so that’s 118 pages + toner + binding material).