Cooking the World: Denmark!

Alright folks.
I had a recipe picked out for Denmark; Stegt Flaesk . It looks delicious, but maybe not exciting enough. Then I remembered Smørrebrød; the delightful Danish open faced sandwich. I found this website that has a ton of varieties. However, a lot of it involves pickling or fermenting.
I know we have some people who have interest/experience in that, so I’m wondering if we want to do a Cooking the World part 1 and 2. #1 in the beginning of the month, we’d make the toppings. Most of the pickling is surprisingly quick (granted, I have no experience in it, so maybe it just seems short to me) with the few things I clicked on being ~12 hours until ready. The bread takes a week to ferment. Then we could do #2 towards the end of the month and assemble the sandwiches with our ingredients. Alternatively, we can scout out markets and good old Jungle Jim’s for imported stuff (Mom n Em might even have some of the smoked fish used in some of these) Or alternatively again, we can do the Stegt Flaesk.

So, let me know which of the following sounds the most appealing, and we’ll go with that!

option 1) Stegt Flaesk (pork belly, potatoes and parsley sauce)
option 2) DIY Smørrebrød (including making rye bread, pickling herrings, making liver pate)
option 3) Store bought Smørrebrød

Hmm… I like the Smørrebrød idea with as much DIY as we can, but the rye might have to be store-bought. I’ve done sourdough rye before, but more of the German-style. I don’t know how feasible it would be for a day-of sort of thing. If your recipe is anything like https://www.theperfectloaf.com/rye-sourdough-and-smorrebrod/ it still has several multi-hour steps even once a levain is ready.

What other things need fermented/pickled? Is it cheating if the pickled herring is store-bought from the kosher section? I’ve made gravlax before too. It’s easy - but it takes 2-3 days to cure.