What do you want to build in DIY PCB class?

Okay, so I’m going to do the basic circuits & PCB photo-etching class. I just need to know what folks want to build:

My first thought is a breadboard power supply & interface board. With 5V, 3.3V and 12V regulated power, also pins to connect up an FTDI, programmer (like ATMEL or PIC programmer). Could be part of “soup up your breadboard series”.

CMOS synthesizer & signal generator. This one is less utilitarian, but super fun. Make 4 to 6 oscillator synth with control from light, pressure, knobs, etc. Can do frequency modulation, ring modulation, etc. I’ve done this course a lot in electronics for non-majors courses.

Let me know.

Lorin

bridge rectifier and psu front end. parts will be big enough you can etch cleanly. More talk on this later.
-D

You can never have too many power supplies.

I’m a total newb at breadboard… So, a basic load out and how to would be a step up for me. What I am interested in long term, is perhaps the control components for home brew cnc, or some kind of helpful test bed for where the majic smoke went.

Okay, sound like the plan will be:

“Breadboard 101: make a really useful breadboard set up for almost any simple project” &

“PCB making 101 - make a PCB for a breadboard power supply / regulator. Learn photo-etching to make DIY durable, reliable circuit boards.”

We’ll trick out our breadboards with most useful components and setups for hacking. Buttons, switches, LED’s, couple useful IC’s. An example:

image.jpg

We’ll breadboard a power regulator and some simple circuits to get a feel for breadboarding & examine how power circuitry works. We’ll test everything and use common test gear in the process: multimeter, oscilliscope, etc