welding class and training

I missed the meeting yesterday, but I see in the minutes that Ryan’s generous offer to do welding classes was discussed again. I’m sure there would be announcements, but I wanted to add my name to any “interested in the class” lists, just in case.

It’s funny, I have no desire to weld anything, but am excited at the possibility of being able to.

The other thing in the minutes that caught my eye was the discussion of a dedicated training day. This is also something I’ve been very interested in working on but not being checked out on some of the tools, was not prepared to do anything about yet. I will help out on future events.

I’m particularly interested in the band saw and 3d printer(s), both listed on the wiki as requiring certification before using.

I would also be very interested in welding classes!

Ditto! I have some basic experience with my own harbor freight
gasless fluxcore rig.

I will just repeat what I said at the meeting last night: The welder will not see any significant use until we have the dirty room set up to be a safe area to weld. I don’t want the hive to burn down or someone to be blinded because someone was impatient in waiting to make things safer!

The only impatience I have is I would like to take Ryan up on his offer before he leaves.

I’m sure there was agreement to Jon’s comments about the dirty room in the meeting (I also see “clean out the dirty room saturday” in the minutes), but I’ll add a “hear hear” to this requirement.

Jon,

Do you want to give everybody a dirty room todo list? This way any one who wants this class can pitch in and help get this done.

Does this mean the dirty room will no longer be for spray painting?

Spray painting at the same time as welding would probably be a fire hazard. At a minimum, you’ll have to take turns using the area. :slight_smile: