Reprap 3d printer

Does anyone have any experience with one? I really like the Mendel90 design but was worried it might be an ambitious first build, since there are no kits available I would have to source everything myself piecemeal. I’m now considering a Prusa i3 kit from eBay or Amazon. There seems to be many available for $180-300. Any advice on brand/seller?

A note on popularity of platform. I started learning hobby machining on a high end machine. Novice material and support were way hard to come by. The 7x10 platform had so much information, it was like drinking from a fire hose. (Not to mention learning on a three hundred dollar platform is less risking than an antique made of expensive unobtainium.) So, don’t underestimate the power of popularity. Next, something slash anything is better than nothing. Even if the kit is not perfect, the learning transfers. If you really hate, or outgrow the kit, then odds are the controllers and steppers still can transfer. Or you keep that one and buy another. Lathe’s are like potato chips… you can’t just have one. I imagine printers are also.

Best question though is for the 3d printer guru’s “What kit is top of your list, and why?”

If I were building a kit printer, I would stay away from the cheap i3 knockoffs… you’ll be hunting problems down constantly and fighting out of tolerance issues for ever. (They also tend to be very weak structures, especially the acrylic ones.) You’ll be luck to get a few months out of the Chinese knockoff extruders and electronics.

I’d go right to the source, splurge, and get the actual Prusa i3. You absolutely will not find a better kit machine out there, period. It has features that no other printer does, as well as optional upgrades that allow easy multiple color support, etc. If you want to go cheaper, build his machine… print all the parts, and source all the other components… but use EXACTLY what he has listed, don’t by the cheap Chinese version… you will not go wrong that way.

Bill