Rc boat combat.

Hey, turns out there is some interest in this.

I was an early officer in MABG, and helped build a bundle of boats for competition. Hey, some of em are still active https://rcwarshipcombat.com/threads/mabg-introductions.444718/

Anyway, I have a few ship plans in 1:144 and if you don’t mind that I literally last looked at my boats about 9 years ago :slight_smile:

Rcwarshipcombat seems to be the flagship site now, WWCC is likely the most active big gun format club going.

To get a competition group together, it will take at least two boats/captains to shoot at each other and make splashes… and a lot of time recruiting to get more players.

WWCC does demo’s at makerfaires in CA. It takes most novices about a year to complete a combat model, some less some more. A lot depends on availability of components. There is no reliable manufacturer of the bb cannon that this format uses, and therefore the cost to machine one is pretty high.

Not impossible if you have the tools… but the intersecting angled holes are a bear.

Anyway… if people are interested, I could help on some builds.

Okay, I mailed wwcc to see about getting current on their mailing list.

The hive is well set up to facilitate building these models. Looking at the classroom tables, I think 4 or 5 models could be worked on fairly easily. There are experts on electronics, and a wide variety of skill sets which will be needed to do a boat start to finish… which is a series of small projects really. Most builders need a jam session or two to get noggin power on an issue they are stuck with, or trade build skills to get something working.