Plastics casting

Hey, there was some discussion on plastics casting. I have some experience in that recently. The pressure cooker was discussed as a dual use vessel, first vacuum degassing, then pressure to reduce bubbles. Should be possible with fabricating a acrylic lid, and adding the valves and safety valves for the other part. I forgot to mention… a timer is really handy on fast setting mixes, as the guess work is taken out of time to mix. Short pot lifes can be “okay, okay, okay… Wham! Set up.” which is a real pia. And, a supply of what look like caulking tubes and gun applicators are needed to inject the plastic to fill from bottom to top. Each mold will have its own pattern of tilting and adjusting to make sure there is no entrapped air. Anyway, I can ask for somebody with quite a few years more experience than me to come give a talk if there is interest.

So, I saw you don't like slack, so I'll summarize here:

While the pressure cooker will be great for vacuum chamber with a clear lid, it's not good for the pressure that castings do best at (pressure cooker 20 psi max, castings need 30-50 psi)

For the vacuum lid, 1/2" polycarbonate or acylic will work, but polycarbonate would be better than acrylic because is much less prone to shatter if it does break. I got a quote from Queen City Polymers in Dayton of $29 for a piece 1/2" x 14" x 14".

I found a Middletown Craigslist add for a paint pressure pot already converted for resin use for $80, I have a friend checking it out this afternoon.

Mike let’s skip back to the guy willing to talk about casting.
Shoot me an email willb@ Hive13.org

I had thought about cobbling together a presentation on cheap quck mold making and casting. But if there is someone with years of experience will to talk, let’s get them in!

WillB

Ahh q.c.p.
Thanks kevin