Making a Storage Box

I’m aiming to make a storage box down at the hive, and I’d like to send an email out to request some things:

For those who have made boxes that have conformed to the size restrictions, could they share how they laid out the cuts on the plywood? I’d like to know what base size of plywood I’m going to need and how to cut it.

For the plywood, I need something strong enough to get the job done, so nothing too terribly fancy. Does anyone have any suggestions on what I should be looking at? Alternatively, does anyone have any extra plywood that I could buy off of that would be enough to make a box, or does anyone need a sheet of plywood themselves but probably doesn’t need a full sheet like me? I’m new to buying materials, honestly, so I’m in some uncharted areas here.

Finally, would anyone be willing after a Tuesday meeting to take a few minutes to show me the operation of the tablesaw? Being as it should all be straight cuts, this is a perfect opportunity for me to learn how to use that tool.

Thank you in advance, makers.

TW

I’m aiming to make a storage box down at the hive, and I’d like to send an email out to request some things:

For those who have made boxes that have conformed to the size restrictions, could they share how they laid out the cuts on the plywood? I’d like to know what base size of plywood I’m going to need and how to cut it.

Box slots are 12"x15"x44". I suggest making two boxes for each slot. That means you’ll need the following pieces:
2x 12"x15"
2x 12"x22"
2x 15"x22"

I suggestion some 1/2" plywood, which is a good compromise between weight and strength. At 1/4" you’re likely to run into issues with the box breaking, 3/4" makes the box heavier than it needs to be, though I think it’s okay. I’d also recommend buying some cheap metal handles. Handles make boxes very light.