Looking formedia center suggestions

About 3 weeks ago I dropped DirecTV, and now I’m looking for a media center option. I’ve heard good things about XBMC on Raspberry Pi, but I’m new to the media center scene and really don’t know where to start. All input/suggestions appreciated.

I always recommend plex. Its always been the best for me. It will allow you to share your library with others as well as use their library. Automatic transcoding (on the server) and it will handle the routing to access your library from your devices while you’re not at home.

Plex is nice. I was a big fan of boxee until they sold out and the parent company killed it. Roku is too weak for me. Xmbc is very nice my only complaint is that nobody is selling a nice pre-packaged version with remote like Boxee did. I probably just depends on your setup and how many people in your family are going to be using it. It’s much easier to nerd out when it’s just you using it. Takes a bit more polish to have the “others” use it.

I just have an i3-3250 PC w/ blu ray drive that dual boots W7 and Ubuntu hooked up via HDMI with a wireless keyboard-mouse thingy. We also have a Chromecast but it was too weaksauce hence the proper media PC. ~6TB of storage connected on GigE for media storage.

-D

I’ve got a similar setup to Dave. HTPC with i3 CPU, 1TB HDD, 2GB of RAM, and Win7. We have a HDHomeRun TV tuner hooked up to an outdoor HDTV antenna. It connects to the router over ethernet.

On the HTPC, we have a start page on Chrome with tiles for all of our popular streaming sites: Netflix, Amazon Prime Videos, Pandora, HBO Go, BBC iPlayer, ESPN3, etc.

Windows Media Center comes baked into Win7. WMC will find your TV tuner and auto detect all the available channels. It then uses the web to build a “TV Guide” for your over the air channels. You can pause and record live TV, and set recordings. It feels just like a cable/satellite DVR.