hacking a metal drum, (literal and figurative )

Hello yall.

I was wondering if anyone knew how to cut open and weld up a steel drum. I’m trying to make a mini oven for a project but my welding skills suck and I have never worked with a steel drum before. to give a bit more detail, a coworker of mine and I are doing public coffee roasting outside, and before we were using a grill but wanted to try and make something. we have a gas line and a burner and a hacked drill and coffee cage that spins the coffee. if you’re interested in helping, or learning and possibly getting free coffee to let me know.

Stefan

I cut up and welded together a few 55gal steel drums for a smoker. They’re very thin metal and quite unforgiving. Are you working with standard steel 55gal drums or do you have fancier materials (i.e. some of the stainless ones you can acquire) ? What exactly do you want to mod / do? I had excellent luck with an angle grinder with a cut disc for cutting, drilled holes for corners. I welded angle iron on to make a clamshell, welded hinges and used the lava stuff to help it seal. worked well enough. (we had smoked meats @hive once)
-Dave

you mean like an old 55 gallon drum? Cutting it open is easy, angle grinder with a cutting wheel will make quick work of it. They tend to be a bit tough to weld because the metal is thin, but it’s manageable with patience. There are several of us who could help you out with it. Can you bring some sketches of what you want to do in to the meeting tonight?

Thanks,

Kevin

Because the drum is steel and thin, you may want to consider brazing it. It would depend on what exactly you are attempting to attach and for what reasons.

One thing first.
What used to be in that drum? Lots of nasty stuff delivered in 55Gal barrels and they get recycled often. The barrels usually have a plastic liner that will burn and be an even worse residue.