Easy beginner soldering project

Hi, I’m looking for an easy soldering project for my daughter (13). Her first experience with soldering is when I convinced her to sit down at the learn to solder table. Tonight she looked at my soldering iron and said “I want to solder something”. The problem is, I’m also new to electronics so I really don’t have anything for her to practice on. So we are looking for something for her to make. Any ideas?

This is the kit I gave my son when he was 8 or so. It’s also what got me interested in microcontrollers again.

http://www.adafruit.com/products/20 – mini POV toy

One problem with this kit is you need to have a serial port handy to program the message into the chip.

Based on the same board:
http://www.adafruit.com/products/287 – Brain machine.

I can’t personally vouch for any of these, but vellman kits are classic.:
http://www.amazon.com/s/?ie=UTF8&keywords=velleman+kit

I’ll check those out. Also, where (besides the shack) can I buy components and kits locally?

I wish I knew, (maybe other hive members have suggestions).

But when ordering components from mouser.com or digikey.com hive members sometimes pool their orders to save shipping costs. And I have a few things I need to get from adafruit if you are thinking about ordering anything from her.

Oddly enough, MicroCenter up on the north side has some kits and parts - albeit at a premium but definitely “instant gratification”.

James

You can try Microcenter, but their selection is limited.

I'm sure I'll be ordering online soon enough, I just wanted to find something local while she's still interested. You know, strike while the iron is hot. never thought of microcenter

Debco by rookwood on Edwards also has a decent amount of kits.
-D