The Manufactory

Hello everyone,

My name is Lee Krieg, President of The Manufactory, a new Makerspace that my family is currently building in Sharonville. I hope it is OK to post this here. It is kind of an ad but I think most of you will find it to be of interest.

I am a maker and a businessman, a printer by trade. We had excess space in our printing shop and I was looking into 3D printing when I came across Techshop’s website. I immediately new that it was what I wanted to do. Within a few days we began planning and started acquiring equipment and preparing the space. Unlike Hive13 this will be a commercial venture which is modeled very much after Techshop. We do, however, intend to be very member driven and will direct the business based upon their input. Also, the owner’s office will be right off the lobby instead of 2,000 miles away. What we like to say is, “Just like Techshop, only better!”

Our website can be found at themanufactory.us which has a brief overview. As you can see we need a web developer so if anyone is interested please contact me at leeATthemanufactory.us. We are also looking for people with expertise in certain areas to act in an advisory capacity to help with decisions regarding equipment purchases, layout, education, etc.

I hope to forge a relationship with Hive13 that will benefit both organizations.

Hi Lee,

That sounds great! Are you aware there is a group actively looking to build a TechShop in Cincinnati? They came to Hive13 to talk to us a few weeks ago. I believe they are still in the funding stage and I don’t recall where they are planning on putting their facility. If you haven’t been in touch with them and want to I’m sure I can dig up their contact info.

I am very excited about all of the new maker activity in Cincinnati and think it’s great! Don’t forget, we are a 501(c)(3), so if you ever need somebody to take some equipment off of your hands… :slight_smile:

Craig

Lee,