Discussion- cnc plasma cutter

Saw an add in Facebook for this and thought it would be a good discussion starter for a cnc plasma cutter. Beyond what I’ve read online I have no experience with these but they seem like they could add alot to the hive. This isnt so much about this specific product but the idea of a cnc metal cutting tool.

https://store.langmuirsystems.com/products/crossfire-cnc

There was a vote against a plasma cutter on July 10, 2018. The negative vote was based not on the virtue of a plasma cutter or it’s cost.
Rather it was the cost and amount of work required bring the room up to fire code ‘hot room’ standards. Fire code requires fire rated drywall on all floors, ceiling and walls.
‘Hot Room’ fire rating is easy in a concrete industrial building, tough in an old wooden mixed use building like ours.

Please re-read that thoughtful discussion (of which you were a participant).

Whether hand held or cnc a plasma cutter it raises the risk of fire too high for a wooden building with residences separated by non-fire rated walls immediately above the hot room.
For all these unchanged reasons, I vote no again.

Dave

Uh Dave this wasnt a vote… this is a discussion, as it states in the subject line. So I am not sure what you are voting on? Having a discussion, thats not really a thing we vote on, unless something has changed and i been kept in the dark.
I did happen to look over that conversation at your request, (my participation on that was my vote nothing more, for clarification.) But that discussion also mentioned and I quote " Sounds like it truly is necessary for the Hive to get a solid plan together for the future of metalworking capabilities " So we have waited now over 6 months. Lets talk!